EPA Forum

​The 1st EPA Forum “Improving Mental Health and Mental Health Care across Europe” will take place 9:00-13:00 on Saturday, 28 March 2015 in Vienna, Austria.

The EPA Forum is a new format which will be introduced at each annual EPA Congress. It will bring together EPA Council of National Society/Association (NPA) members, invited EPA Individual Members, with European NPAs that are not yet EPA members and European organisations/stakeholders/policy makers in the field of Mental Health and Mental Health Care to present and discuss matters of European importance from the perspective of EPA.

Participation is free and open to EPA Members that have signed up by 14 March 2015.

*Attendance is by invitation only


Draft Programme of the 1st EPA Forum 

Improving Mental Health and Mental Health Care across Europe

 9.00 – 9.10Welcome and Introduction
Wolfgang Gaebel, Danuta Wasserman (EPA)
 9.10 – 9.40Introductory Lecture
Shekhar Saxena (WHO, Geneva): Mental Health in the light of the WHO MHAP  

Roundtable Discussion: Improving Mental Health Care across Europe
Moderators: Wolfgang Gaebel, Danuta Wasserman (EPA)

John F. Ryan (DG SANCO) 
Matt Muijen (WHO Europe) 
Dainius Pūras (UN Special Rapporteur on Health) 
Wolfgang Gaebel (EPA) 
Peter Falkai (Chair of the EPA Council of National Psychiatric Associations) 
Pedro Montellano (GAMIAN) 
Bert Johnson (EUFAMI)
Josep Maria Haro (ROAMER)

 10.40-11.00 Break
 11.00-12.00Breakout Sessions

1. World Perspectives of Future Mental Health Care 
Chair: Shekhar Saxena (WHO)
Dinesh Bhugra: The WPA Perspective 
Dainius Pūras: The UN Perspective 
George Christodoulou: The WFMH Perspective

2. Contribution of Future Education to Mental Health Care 
Chair: John F. Ryan (DG SANCO) 
Marc Hermans: The UEMS Perspective 
David Vodusek: The EAN Perspective 
Rutger Jan van der Gaag: The EPA Perspective

3 Contribution of Future Research to Mental Health Care
Chair: Andreas Heinz (EPA) 
Josep Maria Haro: The ROAMER Perspective
David Nutt: The EBC Perspective 
Guy Goodwin: The ECNP Perspective
 12.00-12.10 Break
 12.10-12.25Rapporteurs’ Reports  
 12.25-12.45General Discussion
Moderators: Wolfgang Gaebel, Danuta Wasserman (EPA)  
 12.45-13.00Concluding Remarks
Wolfgang Gaebel, Danuta Wasserman (EPA) 

Keep Me Updated